Excuse me? …. so many strange excuses

Regarding the acceptance of foreigners looking for chances to observe in Japanese acupuncture clinics, or maybe even “learn” a little from the Japanese masters, I have heard many excuses from the Japanese for NOT accepting foreigners.

Some of those excuses include:

* the Japanese master (“sensei“) feels ashamed when being observed –

              this has been said by people practicing for 3-40 years;

* the sensei is afraid, his/her technique(s) might be stolen –

              Well, if anybody wants to “steal” a manual skill, than the aspiring thief must first acquire this skill by him/herself … will take YEARS to accomplish!

* the sensei simply does not WANT to share his knowledge

* the sensei is AFRAID of foreigners –

              I heard this from a man (age about 60), who is running his own clinic for close to 40 years; I could understand, if an old Japanese lady of very small stature said that the presence of a 190 cm +90 kg person, but from a MASTER and clinic DIRECTOR??? If any foreigner did anything inappropriate, he could simple ORDER the foreigner in question to leave …

* AND, naturally, the all time favorite No. 1: “I cannot speak English” –

              In my experience, this does not really matter; hands and feet with do just fine!

There are still more “strange” statements, but I think the above is enough to demonstrate the point.

My personal opinion: the Japanese are wasting VERY valuable opportunities for themselves.

But maybe I myself am “too foreign” to understand why they are so reluctant … to share with the world a body of knowledge and highly developed skills – both of which the Japanese could/SHOULD be very proud of …

Enhanced by Zemanta

About nyuwa

German acupuncturist living in Japan for 32 years. My ideas about "common sense" may not necessarily be common sense to others.
This entry was posted in english, foreign studies, Link, opinion, oriental medicine, Society and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment